K-ON! – Making ADHD Cute

k-on_03-00
LOL! A book on concentration?
You know that book will never be read from beginning to end! ^_^

ADHD – Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

The most common symptoms of ADHD are:

* Impulsiveness: acting before thinking of consequences, jumping from one activity to another, disorganization, tendency to interrupt other peoples’ conversations.

* Inattention: easily distracted, day-dreaming, not finishing work, difficulty listening.

Sounds like someone from a certain Light Music Club?

k-on_02-03
Acting before thinking of consequences

k-on_03-01
Disorganization

k-on_02-01
Easily distracted

k-on_02-00
Day-dreaming

k-on_03-02
Not Finishing work

k-on_02-02
Having difficulty listening

Yui isn’t the only one with ADD symptoms:

ADHD – Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

Other common symptoms of ADHD are:

* Hyperactivity: inability to sit still, fidgeting, squirminess, climbing on things, restless sleep.

k-on_03-03 k-on_03-04
k-on_03-05 k-on_03-06
Inability to sit still, fidgeting, squirminess, climbing on things

16 thoughts on “K-ON! – Making ADHD Cute

  1. “LOL! A book on concentration? You know that book will never be read from beginning to end!”

    Actually, it would truly be hilarious if someone extremely lazy did finish that book in one go, instead of doing what they were supposed to do. That would be the “laziness” version of “idiot savant”… lazy savant?

  2. Since the first episode, Yui immediately reminds me of a good friend I’ve known since grade school who had ADHD, which is probably why I don’t get the moe so much (similar to how I have a real life little sister, so I don’t get the Imouto moe either). But that friend has come quite a long way since taking ritalin years ago.

    I’ve heard that the Japanese traditionally don’t use drugs or prescriptions for problems that westerners regularly turn to and rely on medicine. However in this case, I definitely think Yui could use some ritalin. Or tranquilizers.

    • Coincidentally, I came into K-ON! anticipating three things: moe, comedy, and music. Three episodes in, it’s striking out on all three. I’m rather disappointed.

  3. LOLOL K-ON nails every symptom of ADHD and takes it to a whole new level.

    I wonder if there’s a placebo cure for ADHD. Books seem ineffective. ^^;;;

  4. LMAO….. I just knew K-ON! had something to do with ADHD.

    I was mistaken for having ADHD. =_= Lol, what a mistake. (By who?? By “ALMOST” everyone. Except for my doctor of course. *nods triumphantly*)

    Woot! Thanks!

    -Akira

  5. @Michael | Low On Hit Points: The lazu dude would be too lazy to read it all…but then again…boredom and laziness makes for a productive combination.

    @kadian1364: Yui on ritalin will be a boring…and thus a non moe…Yui. And I think so far K-ON as achieved two of your three expected things. Moe and comedy…yes I think it’s funny!

    @Keiri: There’s a placebo for anything…and a simple minded Yui will fall for it!

    @Snakr: Why thank you kind sir/ma’am! ^_^

    @Onyx Crescent: We can’t believe “Almost” everyone now can we? “Almost” everyone calls me stupid…but that surely isn’t the case!

    @Aizen: I blame MTV.

    @Shin: I’ll like to ‘connect’ with Yui! ;)

  6. Pingback: Editorial: Don’t bully my Yui!! (via Seanver Anime Blog) « Open Your Mind

Leave a comment