Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto -Natsu no Sora- First Impression

mahoutsukai_01-00

The premise here is the same as the first season. Girls takes an exam, girl passes exam, girl is selected to go to Tokyo and study to be a magician and learn what is the most important thing for a magician. But I’m not making this post about the story, I’m making it because of the impression the animation left me with…and to put it simply, I’m not a fan of it. >_>

First off, take a look at this:

mahoutsukai_01-01

Looks great huh? Almost like a photograph. When I saw it, I was certain there were going to be great character models and animation at the same quality as the scenery…I was wrong. Animation, anything that moves like the people, animals, and cars, etc. etc., are drawn differently than the background. It’s as if they took some cut outs and plastered it on a photograph. Just take a look:

mahoutsukai_01-03

The difference in quality is a bit odd…I was actually distracted by it and didn’t pay enough attention to what they were saying or what was going on. {I had to re-watch it…>_>} But I’ll probably get used to it as the series goes on. I’m not about to drop an anime on animation quality alone. ^_^’

But you know, if it turns out to be the same as the first season, Someday’s Dreamers, then I would rather watch the first season again…But they’re not about to do that right? ^_^

4 thoughts on “Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto -Natsu no Sora- First Impression

  1. You’re right, it seems like the female characters are copy and paste into photographed background. Perhaps, the producers call this “art”. lol XD I’m going to give this a try, will drop a couple of series along the way.

  2. I was looking for information on this anime and the previous “season” of it, this style of animation at first bothered me, i was amazed at the backgrounds and began to notice they never moved, only the things in them, that and the figures are how i figured out they were photographs lol, but i absolutely love this anime so far, thanks to you posting the title of the previous season/version i began that to, but half way through the first ep im fairly dissapointed, and the main characters hairs standing up is pissing me off lol

Leave a comment