Madoka Magica – Oh.My.God.

Did that just really happen? Did Mami just get mauled by a witch? DID SHE JUST GRUESOMELY DIED!?

This…ah…umm…wow, don’t really know what to say. I want to say it’s awesome for a mahou shoujo anime to do this…but that makes me sound like an ass. SHE JUST GOT MAULED TO DEATH AND I LIKE IT! WTF!?

I was even expecting…no, HOPING, the girls would make the contract and save her in the nick of time with the power of friendship. But no, this anime threw that out the window and went for the kill.

Wow. Amazing scene.

7 thoughts on “Madoka Magica – Oh.My.God.

  1. I want to say it’s awesome for a mahou shoujo anime to do this…but that makes me sound like an ass. SHE JUST GOT MAULED TO DEATH AND I LIKE IT! WTF!?

    Imo, this doesn’t make you an ass. a character death in a mahou shoujo theme makes Madoka Magica unique among its predecessors so there’s nothing wrong if you liked this development… Even I hated how they killed Mami but came to respect the uniqueness of this anime because of it.

    • Well… They killed of basically everyone in Sailor Moon as well in various ways.

      The big difference which is going to be interesting is if Mami stays dead or not. From the looks on things she will stay dead and well then it is a bit more unique than most other shows yes.

      But having deaths in a mahou shoujo show is not that unnatural.

  2. Yeah I so did not expect that in terms of the death itself and the nature if the death. I guess that is an advantage of a rather well established genre: it has certain expectations and conventions and if a creator chooses to break them it is an easy ticket to ‘innovation.’ Whether it is or it isn’t, I still found it refreshing and am interested in what unexpected convention-breaking twist they will throw at me next. It’s a show where I feel nothing is what it seems… :D

Leave a Reply

