53RG10’s Top Ten Anime Songs {Summer ’09}

vocaloid_kagaminelen

The title says it all, so let’s get it started!

10 – Bloooomin’ – Little Non

littlenon_bloooomin
Saki Opening Song

I’ll be honest, I cannot follow the lyrics at all, and I don’t know what the hell they’re saying…but this song is pretty damn catchy and upbeat that it managed to get the number 10 spot!

09 – Princess Primp – Hashimoto Miyuki

hashimotomiyuki_princessprimp
Princess Lover Opening Song || Lyrics Translation

For the longest time I thought it was “Princess Pimp”…that would have been a lot more awesome-er! But we’ll have to settle with Primp…whatever that means…I Googled…

The game’s OP is better IMHO. But this is about anime OP/ED.

08 – Hoshikuzu no SURROUND – CooRie

coorie_hoshikuzunosurround
Sora no Manimani Ending Song || Lyrics Translation

07 – First Pain – Ishikawa Chiaki

ishikawachiaki_firstpain
Element Hunters Opening Song || Lyrics Translation

I dunno what is it about this song that I like, it’s it the creepy sounding lyrics? Ishikawa Chiaki’s voice [which kinda reminds me of Imai Asami of IDOLM@STER fame]? Or the simple melody?

Dunno which it is…but it managed to give it the #7 spot!

06 – Aggressive zone – NEEDLESS GIRLS+

needlessgirls+_aggressivezone
NEEDLESS Ending Song || Lyrics Translation

I think the inclusion of this song relied heavily on the ending sequence accompanying it. Every time this song comes up in Foobar, I can clearly imagine the AWESOME LESBIANISM ending sequence!!

Heh, at least this song is pretty catchy!

WARNING: There’s a version which you must avoid at all costs! TBH, it was pretty LULZY!

05 – Modern Strange Cowboy – GRANRODEO

granrodeo_modernstrangecowboy
NEEDLESS Opening Song || Lyrics Translation

NEEDLES is awesome, so is this song. Go watch NEEDLESS, go listen to this song!

Once in a while, Shounen and GAR does a body good!

04 – Hitomi no Kotae – Noria

noria_hitominokotae
07-Ghost Ending Song || Lyrics Translation

I like this song, it’s so nice and slow and Noria has very soft and cute voice! I haven’t seen 07-Ghost, but who cares, it’s all about the Ending song!

03 – Yumemiru Kokoro – Itou Kanae

itoukanae_yumemirukokoro
Taishou Yakyuu Musume Ending Song || Lyrics Translation

Itou Kanae, a voice actress, sings this song. When I heard that, I wasn’t really excited for I wasn’t thrilled by how she sung in the “Shugo Chara! CHARACTER SONG COLLECTION”…well, of course, she sung in the Amu character, and although an ‘ok’ listen, not something I came back for more and more. So when I heard she was gonna sing the ending of Taishou Yakyuu Musume, I was indifferent. It wasn’t until I heard the full song did I come to love the song!

I came to Taishou Yakyuu Musume a bit late, so I haven’t had heard the song until then. And if you’ve been visiting long enough, you’ll know I love moe and am a complete moetard. And this song sounds just so damn cute~

Also, I F.CKING WANT THE SONG SHE SUNG IN THE FIRST EPISODE!!!!!

02 – Hitotsu no Negai – Inoue Hikari

inouehikari_hitotsunonegai
Senjou no Valkyria Ending Song 2 || Lyrics Translation

I’m a sucker for these types of song, if you’ve seen my other Top Ten Lists, you know. This song have been bit lower on the list, but after the episode where Isara died, this song became a lot more touching and had more meaning…jumping a few spots up the list.

01. Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari – supercell

supercell_kiminoshiranaimonogatari
Bakemonogatari Ending Song || Lyrics Translation

Was there any doubt? We can all unanimously agree that “Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari” is the best song from the Summer ’09 anime season! If you don’t agree…you haven’t heard the song. ;)

I don’t know where I was, must have been under a rock or something, but I’ve never heard of supercell before. And when “Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari” came out, people were saying how awesome supercell is and how they followed the band in Nico Nico Douga or something…not really sure, just paraphrasing here… >_>

Anyways, the song left an impression on me since I heard it in Bakemonogatari, although the song kinda reminded me of “Sora no Manimani”… >_> and put supercell on the map for me. This is their first single, both tracks being pretty good songs, so I hope to hear more from supercell in the future!


Honorable Mentions:

  • Programming for Non-fiction – Aso Natsuko (Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou Opening Song)
  • Made in WONDER – Misato Aki (Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou Ending Song)
  • Super Driver – Hirano Aya (Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu 2009 Opening Song)
  • Tomare! – Hirano Aya, Chihara Minori, Gotou Yuuko (Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu 2009 Ending Song)
  • mind as judgement – Faylan (CANAAN Opening Song)

P.S: Bakemonogatari Opening song(s) will be included in next season’s list. I want to hear the full versions before deciding to add them to the list. Hopefully they’ll be out by then…though I hear Nadeko’s will be on a DVD or something…it’s okay, that song, although very cute, didn’t make my list… >_>

6 thoughts on “53RG10’s Top Ten Anime Songs {Summer ’09}

  1. It’s a shame the OPs for Bakemonogatari have not been released yet. If it had been, the winner belongs to Renai Circulation all the way.

    Seriously though, I’ve been quite pleased with the way Bakemonogatari’s OP/EDs have turned out. BGM might not be great, but you can’t deny the amount of energy and/or catchy melodies that all of the songs are infused with.

    • Yeah, all the OP are great and fit their character, can’t wait for Tsubasa’s, but since I want to give other anime OP/ED a chance, I can only choose one of them, I’m leaning towards “Ambivalent World” (Suruga’s).

  2. Totally agree with the top two songs, am a sucker for songs like Hitotsu no Negai too lol.

    Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari > other OP/ED though.

Leave a Reply

