Top 5 Anime Picks for Summer 2009 Season

summer-2009-v2
Sauce: http://chartfag.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/summer-2009/

Alright, lets get this outta the way so I can go back to being lazy!

Ah! Before that, I wanna point this out, because it just hit me…it has been ONE YEAR since I started this Top 5 Picks trend. That’s right! My first Top 5 Picks was started before the Summer 2008 Anime Season! How about that? One year of choosing anime I’ll either drop or finish just for the sake of finishing… ”’orz

Well, it’s a continuing trend, so let see which anime I will drop or force myself to finish find interesting from their synopsis…even though that chart up there tells me not to go by its synopsis…>_>

By the way, anime sequels and OVA won’t be picked, only NEW anime.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni

uminekononakukoroni_ushiromiyamaria
Pixiv Sauce: http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?mode=medium&illust_id=4234555

This pick is completely based on my love for the “no Naku Koro ni” series, which are: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai, and Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei…though they should probably be called the the “Higurashi” series…but they all share the “no Naku Koro ni” part so I’ll call it that.

Going by how Higurashi no Naku Koro ni treated me, I think it’s safe to say this is one of my picks that I will actually really like. I may be bad with stuff like this…things like that fingernail torture scene and that Rika knife slamming, which were too intense for me…but the mystery, suspense, and overall story is what made me come back to watch more. And I fully expect the same thing outta Umineko no Naku Koro ni.

CANAAN

canaan_canaan-oosawamaria
Image Links to 4057×5480 [1.8mb] Original

Two things attracted me to this…well…thinking about it, it’s one thing. That one thing was Type-Moon, which was the first thing that came to mind once I saw the characters. I won’t say I’m a huge fan of Type-Moon, but the anime adaptations based on Type-Moon’s work were all enjoyable. These anime are Fate/Stay Night, Tsukihime [well not really, but still OK], and currently the Kara no Kyoukai movies.

Type-Moon’s work usually dives into the supernatural, so I’m expecting more of that with CANAAN…which going by the synopsis doesn’t really give off that Type-Moon “feel”… -_-

If anything, the Voice Cast will be enough for me to stick around! ;)

Kanamemo

kanamemo

Okay, we are now entering the guitly pleasure and filler anime now. This summer season doesn’t really have anything that makes me excited…except those two up there…so I shall pick an anime from one of my favorite genres, slice of life! It’s based on a four panel comic of the same name, and anime from four panel comics always end up being a fun watch regardless if I’ve seen similar things before.

Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou

yokuwakarugendaimahou

Anyone else like moe and mahou shoujo? No? Really? You suck…

Tokyo Magnitude 8.0

tokyomagnitude

Screw it, let’s just throw this in here. I’m not really excited about this…but I am curious about it, and since I don’t really have any other anime I really wanna put in here, I’ll throw this on here to fill up the list… >_>

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Anime Picks for Summer 2009 Season

  1. After playing the Umineko game (EP 4 atm), I really want to see it animated because it has such sadistically murders and characters going psycho, I hope it won’t be censored much and that it will not be too graphic.

  2. I don’t like that kind of moe and I’m getting sick of mahou shoujo, so yeah, I suck. LOLz xD

    on your top 5, umineko’s the one I like the most xD followed by tokyo magnitude then canaan. hehe.

  3. Well, I guess no one can ignore Umineko but, besides that, I’m quite eager for Bakemonogatari… oh, and I might also give Princess Lover a chance just for a bit of Wakamoto Norio ^_^

  4. At first I blew off the summer anime list as I only wanted to see Haruhi and Spicy Wolf 2. But after giving others a try I find myself keeping up with 4 more! With the exception of K-ON! and Eden, this summer season is far better spring.

Leave a Reply

