[Quickie] Anime Reviews – Winter ’09

Asu no Yoichi!

asunoyoichi_03-01

Not much to say about Asu no Yoichi!…wasn’t really a fan. It was “ok” for a generic guy-lives-with-a-lot-of-girls-whose-parents-are-conviniently-away-on-a-trip kinda anime. One of it’s appeal was the awesome seiyuu cast, but other than that, it’s love like-it-or-hate-it-at-first-episode-deal. I kept watching for the sole reason of Makino Yui, the underdog of the cast, in hopes of seeing more lovely Tusbasa Ero fighting outfit, which I got at the final episode! ^_^

Really, it was just an anime to pass time with…

Asu no Yoichi! gets TWO paradoxical lolis, outta FIVE.


Minami-ke Okaeri

minami-ke_hosaka_ihosaka
Because Hosaka Rocks!

The Minami sister opened their door to us and welcomed us into their home once again! And I can honestly say I enjoyed my stay there! The animation may have been a bit iffy, but what I liked about Minami-ke in the first place, Mako-chan the comedy, was what makes it shine.

Minami-ke gets THREE Curry Fairies, outta FIVE.


Mobile Suit Gundam 00 S2

gundam00_exia_loli
New Interest + Old Interest = New Fetish || Click Here for Approriate pic.

I’m a mecha n00b, I don’t really do mecha much…but after Eureka SeveN and Code Geass, I decided to give another mecha anime a try, enter Gundam 00…the first Gundam for I’ve ever seen, which makes me a Gundam virgin. I don’t think…I don’t remember seeing a Gundam series before, so I have nothing to compare it to other than Code Geass and Erueka SeveN, which I shouldn’t even do…>_>

But Gundam 00 was awesome!

I had trouble with that whole we-want-to-rid-Earth-of-war mindset though…it feels too cliche. But the other aspect of Gundam 00, the politics, the (real world like) conflicts, the story, the battles, OH GOD THE BATTLES!!, and the SEXY Gundams more than make up for it!

Mobile Suit Gundam 00 gets FIVE moe moe innovators, outta FIVE.

P.S: Halleluja should have had more screen/fighting time…>_>


Sora wo Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai – Munto TV

munto_hidakayumemi

The KyoAni work for Winter ’09 Season [along with CLANNAD ~After Story~]. Apparently, this a re-make of a two episode OVA that flew under my radar…well they were released in 2003 & 2005, I didn’t start watching anime ’till mid ’06…>_>

Sora wo Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai had a high chance of getting a Five outta Five rating [from me]…but that was my bias opinion from the first episode and my KyoAni fanboyism. The first episode had some awesome fighting sequences and engaging premise…but the other side of the story, the part with Yumemi, Ichiko and Suzume [and that lolicon dude] kinda slowed it down. I like slice-of-life anime, and I know it was needed for the climax of the story, but when the story has a chance of being engaging and full of action, the slice-of-life part kinda felt odd and outta place.

But overall, the story was good, although short, and the anime was a nice watch!

Sora wo Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai gets THREE TinyURL recommendations, outta FIVE.


ToraDora!

toradora_aisakataiga

Naming an anime “ToraDora” and giving both main characters, the Tiger and the Dragon, different love interest kinda gives away at the ending. We all guessed the Tiger and Dragon would end up together. But the journey there was what made ToraDora so great. All the characters and drama was pretty well done! Like the Taiga and Sumire fight…AWESOME!

But seeing Ryuuji and Taiga getting closer and realizing their feelings felt weird to me. It just felt like watching a father and daughter falling in love with each other. That’s just me though, other people love the Tiger and Dragon! I’m the odd guy out…>_>

Speaking of odd. One thing that felt odd about ToraDora were the last few episodes. Seeing Ya-chan [Ryuuji's mother] screaming and yelling felt really outta place, it felt like it was forced in there for drama. She has never been displayed liked this so it was weird…and for, what I think, a trivial matter, which was knowing Taiga and Ryuuji were working…Also, Ryuuji came out and yelled at her in return for ‘dumping her mistakes on him’…or something…that really came out of nowhere.

But the ending was good and I liked the anime.

ToraDora! gets FOUR, umm…four of these, outta FIVE.


To Aru Majutsu no Index

toarumajutsunoindex_index-kasakirihyouka

Going by first episodes experience, I lowered my expectation after seeing the first two episode of To Aru Majutsu no Index…and I’m glad I did. With lowered expectations, the anime turned out being pretty damn good! ^_^ But like the majority of people, I hoped there would be more action and more Magic Vs Science fights…or more Kuroko X Mikoto! ;) …and less talk.

But to be honest, the thing that interested me from the very beginning, the magic vs science theme, was what kept me coming back. The [actual] fighting scenes may have been short and lengthened by a lot of talk, but I thought it was great…because well, I liked all this magic/science talk! I’m a sucker for the supernatural!

To Aru Majutsu no Index gets FOUR, that right, FOUR titled character that doesn’t appear much on the actual show, outta FIVE.


Hmm…looking at this ‘list’, I realized most Winter anime I enjoyed were carry over from previous seasons! ^_^’

11 thoughts on “[Quickie] Anime Reviews – Winter ’09

  1. >>>>But like the majority of people, I hoped there would be more action and more Magic Vs Science fights…or more Kuroko X Mikoto!

    More fights? You got to be kidding. Some of us wanted more Index in bunny PJs. To Aru Majutsu no Index delivered fansticially in that regard. And yes, Himegami, that is moe!!

  2. @nogizaka: Sadly there’s not much Hosaka fan art…I wanted a Kimochi Warui moment…

    @Roy Mustang: Somebody liked Index! O_O And here I thought people unanimously liked Misaka…>_>

    @phossil: I loved Eureka SeveN! It was probably the anime that opened the door to mecha to me! ^_^’

  3. Poor Index doesn’t get much screen time. Well unfortunately, title character does not equal main character in this case. But we’ll get to see more of her in Season 2. She’ll def play a bigger role. Joyous to all loliSis(ter)cons out there. ^^

    I suppose the “hero talk” bit doesn’t account for the “talk love” part of Index? ;)

    Okaeri, Toradora and Munto TV were *heart* to me. Enjoyed them thoroughly. :)

  4. @Roy Mustang: Wait…whut? To the Siscon genre?

    @Shin: Because I didn’t finish it by the time I wrote this…>_>

    @Keiri: Oh, she plays a bigger role!? Can’t wait!

    @Roy Mustang: OH! NOW I GET IT!!! SIS(ter)-CON! ^_^’


    ..
    .
    ”’orz

Leave a Reply

